LibGuides: Economics: Development Economics: Online Resources

Useful search terms

Useful search terms include the following:

agrarian development; agrarian power relations; alternative economics; bartering; black economy; community-based development; credit and banking; credit programmes; community development; development economics; discrimination; economic development; economic geography; economic growth; economic policy; education; environmental economics; environmental policy; fertility; fiscal architecture; gender economics; governance; growth; health; household decision making; household economics; inequality; informal institution; informal networks; infrastructure economics; institutions; interlinked markets; international trade; labour economics; land reforms; local government effectiveness; local institutions; natural resource management; policy reform; political development; political economy; political economy of development; poverty; programme evaluation; public economics; public policy; public sector; regional economics; regional planning; rural development; social funds; social policy; spatial inequality;

Libguides

Here are some links to the resource guides of other libraries that you may find useful. Please note that you may not have access to all the resources indicated in these guides. They are intended as a springboard to your own research.

SMU Singapore
This guide is created to support students taking the Development Economics (ECON 204) course. It is maintained by Chia Meow Hui.
RMIT - Australia
This research guide will provide you with starting points for finding information on development economics, economic policy, poverty, gender, and the global economy.
Dalhousie University
This guide was prepared by the Management & Economics Librarian for the Dalhousie community. These resources have been selected as excellent starting points for academic research in development economics.
Georgia Tech
This guide will help you identify resources for quantitative and qualitiative data, reports and statistics to support your work.

Research links

Secondary school research tools
Welcome to a collection of resources to help you complete effective research as a student in the digital world. The resources will guide you to the essential steps in completing a research project, from searching and finding information to best practice in referencing and citing using digital tools.

Databases - UWCSEA subscription

Logins and passwords can be accessed from: bit.ly/accessuwc

*	UWCSEA subscribes to several Gale products, including custom selection of magazines and professional journals, a small selection of ebooks, pposing VIewpoints - a database of information on contemporary issues, pro and con.. Gale Power Search
*	Project Muse is an online database of more than 200 journals from nonprofit publishers. Academic focus.
*	JSTOR is an online database of scholarly journals & books. Academic focus.
*	SIRS Knowledge Source A general reference database that contains thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, political and global issues.
*	Espresso Clipbank An extensive subject based video library.
*	Philip Allan “Review” Journals - ARCHIVE (We have other Philip Allan titles in print copies - see library catalog holdings for all journals with “review” in the title). NB: The archives do NOT contain the most recent issue.

Databases - other institutions

Economics Search Engine
"ESE uses a beta version of Google Custom Search Engine to search over 23,000 economics websites and utilizes yolink to mine results and retrieve actionable, keyword-rich content. Results can saved to Google Docs, bookmarked or shared via major social networks. Each site is certified by RFE, which is run by economists from RePec Author Services and EDIRC."
(Bill Goffe, 2013)
NLB
In order to make use of the NLB eResources you need a Singapore library card (see i if you don't have a card).

more...less...
Foreigners need to produce their passport AND employment pass/work permit/student pass /dependent's pass (with a remaining validity of at least 3 months, except for the student pass). A registration fee of $10.50 as well as an annual foreign membership fee of $42.80 are charged. The registration fee of $10.50 will again be charged when a membership has expired for more than 6 months or when a member changes his status to PR before the expiration of his foreign membership. All fees paid are non-refundable.
Research Papers in Economics
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of volunteers in 78 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The project consists of a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components.
UNU-Wider working papers
On 1 January 2010, UNU-WIDER introduced the WIDER Working Papers Series (ISSN 1798-7237), which are working papers posted online aimed to stimulate discussion and critical comment.

The series amalgamates and replaces both the previous Discussion Paper and the Research Paper series. The working papers are registered with an individual ISBN to enable citation and library referencing and are available for downloading. The online WIDER working papers are supported by a selective print-on-demand service upon specific request from developing country readers and organizations.
World Bank online Databases
The Data Catalog provides download access to over 8,000 indicators from World Bank data sets. All data on this web site can be used free of charge with minimal restrictions (see Terms of Use). There are several ways you can access these data and datasets, including downloads, widgets, through WebAPI, the databank and data catalogue.

Data and Statistics

It is important that you can back up your arguments in a discussion paper or essay with factual data. In the Economics Research library guide a list of links to organisations providing data and statistics is given to assist you. There is a wide range of information and you need to take care that the correct data is chosen.

IMF data
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
OECD
OECD’s laboratory for data visualisations.
UN Metadata
Database is comprised of a wide range of important statistics and metadata drawn from the United Nations, UN agencies and other international sources. It covers key economic, social, financial and development topics.
World Bank
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
US Census International data
"The International Data Base (IDB) offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. The IDB has provided access to demographic data for over 25 years to governments, academics, other organizations, and the public. It is funded by organizations that sponsor the research of the Census Bureau"s International Programs Center for Demographic and Economic Studies. "
International Labour Organisation Statistics
View and download data and metadata for over 200 countries or territories from LABORSTA, an International Labour Office database on labour statistics operated by the ILO Department of Statistics
Bank for International Settlements
The BIS international financial statistics are a unique source of information on various elements of the global financial system.
Human Development Reports
The human development data utilized in the preparation of the Human Development Index (HDI) and other composite indices featured in the Human Development Report are provided by a variety of public international sources and represent the best and most current statistics available for those indicators at the time of the preparation of this annual report.
Gapminder
Gapminder is a non-profit venture – a modern “museum” on the Internet – promoting sustainable global development and achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals.

Environment and Development Economics

Environment and Development Economics publishes articles and papers related to environmental, resource and development economics. The Journal has two main sections, Theory and Applications, which includes regular academic papers and Policy Options, which includes papers that may be of interest to the wider policy community. Environment and Development Economics also publishes occasional Policy Fora (discussions based on a focal paper). From time to time the journal publishes special issues based on a particular theme.

Journal of Development Economics

The Journal of Development Economics publishes papers relating to all aspects of economic development - from immediate policy concerns to structural problems of underdevelopment. The emphasis is on quantitative or analytical work, which is relevant as well as intellectually stimulating. The Journal publishes original research papers and reviews, it does not publish book reviews.

The Economist

Click here to access the latest issue (& back issues)
via Gale Powersearch (instant access while on campus)

Economics: Development Economics: Online Resources