Skip to Main Content
UWCSEA Libraries Logo

TOK - Theory of Knowledge: Areas of knowledge

Areas of Knowledge

The IB TOK Guide identifies eight Areas of Knowledge. There is a relationship between Ways of Knowing and Areas of Knowledge and reflecting on the relationships enables us to identify and construct knowledge in different AoKs. 

Areas of knowledge

The Areas of Knowledge in TOK are:

  • Mathematics
  • Natural sciences
  • Human sciences
  • History
  • The Arts
  • Ethics
  • Religious knowledge systems
  • Indigenous knowledge systems

Students generally study six of these AoKs. If you're looking for information to help you understand and explore different AoKs, then please use the sub-tabs for each AoK.