Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to this Libguide for TOK. This first page provides general information; following tabs or pages give specific suggestions of resources for different elements of the TOK course. Each WoK (Way of Knowing) and AoK (Area of Knowledge) is listed separately under the general tabs above. Just hover the cursor over the relevant blue tab to see and select sub-pages/tabs. Suggested books are held in the Main Library on the East Campus.
Link to the library catalogue
A number of items in the Library collection could be helpful when looking for resources and information to support your exploration of TOK. This link to the College library catalogue enables you to search under subject or topic terms.
There is a TOK collection in the Library. Please regard this as a 'starter' collection, as there are many other items in the larger Library print collection which can help you. In fact, the various tabs in this libguide contain recommendations or suggestions of print resources that are kept in the general collection, not just in the TOK collection.
Magazines and knowledge questions
Magazines contain current information which can help to examine knowledge questions. These include general interest magazines such as The Week, The Economist and Time magazine.
Current information provides stimulus material to help understand some of the abstract concepts in TOK, such as Philosophy Now
All these magazines are available in the Library.
Digital access to Philosophy Now
The library subscribes to a digital database of Philosophy Now.
Philosophy Now offers institutions digital access via IP ranges, so there is no log-in (that is purely for individual subscribers). Users can tell if they are in the subscribed version if they see "UWCSEA" in the top right corner of the screen.
Don't have time to read a book about TOK? Time management is a big factor for DP students and others. The following tips may be helpful:
- Don't think of necessarily reading a book 'from cover to cover'
- Use the List of Contents to help you identify relevant chapters
- Use the Index (usually at the back of the book) to help you identify relevant pages of information
- Use skim and scan-reading techniques, e.g. looking for key terms, to ascertain relevant content
- Use side headings, bold text and illustration headings to help get to relevant sections
IB Theory of Knowledge Guide
The college subscribes to several useful databases of information. These are available through the College Portal. Once you have logged in, click on the bottom of the page to get the pull-up menu. Select "Reference Sites" and there are a number of databases listed.
For TOK, the following databases may be helpful
EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Including: EBSCO Discovery Service,
EBSCOhost Research Databases,
Explora Secondary Schools,
Explora Primary Schools,
History Reference Center,
Literary Reference Center,
Points of View,
Science Reference Center,
Consumer Health Complete,
World Politics Review Trial, and
Gale Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides online access to archived contents of important scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences. Researchers are able to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of back issues of journals and pages as they were originally printed. Existing titles are updated and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
PressReader This link opens in a new windowThousands of newspapers and magazines available for instant reading and downloading
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProject Muse is an online database of more than 200 journals from nonprofit publishers. Academic focus.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new windowA general reference database that contains thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, political and global issues. For more information on how to use the database, click here.