Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Economics: Introduction: Institutions & People

Academic Institutions


Nobel prize in Economics

This list is provided by the official website of the Nobel Prize.

"The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel has been awarded 44 times to 71 Laureates between 1969 and 2012. Click on the links to get more information."

2012: Alvin E. Roth and Lloyd S. Shapley

2011: Thomas J. Sargent and Christopher A. Sims

2010: Peter A. DiamondDale T. Mortensen and Christopher A. Pissarides

2009: Elinor Ostrom

2009: Oliver E. Williamson

2008: Paul Krugman

2007: Leonid HurwiczEric S. Maskin and Roger B. Myerson

2006: Edmund S. Phelps

2005: Robert J. Aumann and Thomas C. Schelling

2004: Finn E. Kydland and Edward C. Prescott

2003: Robert F. Engle III

2003: Clive W.J. Granger

2002: Daniel Kahneman

2002: Vernon L. Smith

2001: George A. AkerlofA. Michael Spence and Joseph E. Stiglitz

2000: James J. Heckman

2000:  Daniel L. McFadden

1999: Robert A. Mundell

1998: Amartya Sen

1997: Robert C. Merton and Myron S. Scholes

1996: James A. Mirrlees and William Vickrey

1995: Robert E. Lucas Jr.

1994: John C. HarsanyiJohn F. Nash Jr. and Reinhard Selten

1993: Robert W. Fogel and Douglass C. North

1992: Gary S. Becker

1991: Ronald H. Coase

1990: Harry M. MarkowitzMerton H. Miller and William F. Sharpe

1989: Trygve Haavelmo

1988: Maurice Allais

1987: Robert M. Solow

1986: James M. Buchanan Jr.

1985: Franco Modigliani

1984: Richard Stone

1983: Gerard Debreu

1982: George J. Stigler

1981: James Tobin

1980: Lawrence R. Klein

1979: Theodore W. Schultz and Sir Arthur Lewis

1978: Herbert A. Simon

1977: Bertil Ohlin and James E. Meade

1976: Milton Friedman

1975: Leonid Vitaliyevich Kantorovich and Tjalling C. Koopmans

1974: Gunnar Myrdal and Friedrich August von Hayek

1973: Wassily Leontief

1972: John R. Hicks and Kenneth J. Arrow

1971: Simon Kuznets

1970: Paul A. Samuelson

1969: Ragnar Frisch and Jan Tinbergen

Clark Medal Winners

"The John Bates Clark medal was awarded biennially from 1947-2009 to that American economist under the age of forty who is judged to have made the most significant contribution to economic thought and knowledge. From 2010 forward, the Clark Medal will be awarded annually. The Medal winner is announced in April."

1947 Paul A. Samuelson
1949 Kenneth E. Boulding
1951 Milton Friedman
1953 No Award
1955 James Tobin
1957 Kenneth J. Arrow
1959 Lawrence R. Klein
1961 Robert M. Solow
1963 Hendrik S. Houthakker
1965 Zvi Griliches
1967 Gary S. Becker
1969 Marc Leon Nerlove
1971 Dale W. Jorgenson
1973 Franklin M. Fisher
1975 Daniel McFadden
1977 Martin S. Feldstein
1979 Joseph E. Stiglitz
1981 A. Michael Spence
1983 James J. Heckman
1985 Jerry A. Hausman
1987 Sanford J. Grossman
1989 David M. Kreps
1991 Paul R. Krugman
1993 Lawrence H. Summers
1995 David Card
1997 Kevin M. Murphy
1999 Andrei Shleifer
2001 Matthew Rabin
2003 Steven Levitt
2005 Daron Acemoglu
2007 Susan C. Athey
2009 Emmanuel Saez
2010 Esther Duflo
2011 Jonathan Levin
2012 Amy Finkelstein
2013 Raj Chetty