Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases - other institutions
Research Papers in Economics
"RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of volunteers in 78 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The project consists of a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components."
World Bank online Databases
In order to make use of the NLB eResources you need a Singapore library card (see i if you don't have a card).
UNU-Wider working papers
"The WIDER Working Papers Series (ISSN 1798-7237), are working papers posted online aimed to stimulate discussion and critical comment. The series amalgamates and replaces both the previous Discussion Paper and the Research Paper series. The working papers are registered with an individual ISBN to enable citation and library referencing and are available for downloading. The online WIDER working papers are supported by a selective print-on-demand service upon specific request from developing country readers and organizations. "
Economics Search Engine
"ESE uses a beta version of Google Custom Search Engine to search over 23,000 economics websites and utilizes yolink to mine results and retrieve actionable, keyword-rich content. Results can saved to Google Docs, bookmarked or shared via major social networks. Each site is certified by RFE, which is run by economists from RePec Author Services and EDIRC."
Directory of Open Access Journals
"The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content."
Data and Statistics
The links below will take you to public available data, statistics and other tools that can aid you in your research or analysis of information.
Bank for International Settlements
The BIS international financial statistics are a unique source of information on various elements of the global financial system.
Gapminder has "the intention of being a “fact tank” that promotes a fact based world view. Keeping our tools’ statistical content up-to-date and making time series freely available in Gapminder World and Gapminder Countries.
Producing videos, Flash presentations and PDF charts showing major global development trends with animated statistics in colorful graphics."
Human Development Reports
International Human Development Indicators
The human development data utilized in the preparation of the Human Development Index (HDI) and other composite indices featured in the Human Development Report are provided by a variety of public international sources and represent the best and most current statistics available for those indicators at the time of the preparation of this annual report.
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
International Labour Organisation Statistics
View and download data and metadata for over 200 countries or territories from LABORSTA, an International Labour Office database on labour statistics operated by the ILO Department of Statistics
OECD’s laboratory for data visualisations.
"The Singapore Department of Statistics (DOS) develops and maintains a national statistical system of quality, integrity and expertise. As the National Statistical Authority, the Department provides reliable, relevant and timely statistics to support Singapore’s social and economic development. In addition to collecting, compiling and disseminating a wide range of official statistics, the Department also analyses and monitors economic and social trends, and develops and maintains national statistical databases. As the National Statistical Co-ordinator, the Department coordinates statistical activities in public agencies, provides advice on statistical subject-matters, and develops and promotes the observance of national statistical standards."
Transparency International works towards a corruption free world. Its databases provide information and data on corruption by topic, or by country, and access to its publications, tools and research.
Database is comprised of a wide range of important statistics and metadata drawn from the United Nations, UN agencies and other international sources. It covers key economic, social, financial and development topics.
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.