Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistics & probability
STATISTICS AND PROBABILITY
GOOD SOURCES OF DATA
UN data: A huge database of socioeconomic data broken down by country that could be really fun to explore, (may be a bit overwhelming if you don’t have an idea of what you are looking for.)
UN World Population Prospects: Great population data for every country in the world (since 1950) and population predictions through 2100. There are also lots of great population factors that you can look at too.
Gapminder: Good, focused data about various human geography type topics.
Google Public Data Explorer: Like the UN data website, just a ton of random data that would be fun to sift through. They do have a rolling front page though that gives random data ideas, which is fun to look through.
Google Trends: This is a really cool Google service where you can get data on how popular search terms are over time. You can see the correlation between different terms and restrict data to different regions.
Box Office Mojo: Box office data! Different types of movies seem to have different models that fit their data (for example, the gross earnings for an indie movie turned popular fits a logistic function very well). Sometimes it’s a little hard to find that data in a good form because people usually only care what’s going on this week, and also care more about rankings, but you can click on a movie and then get box office earnings by week for every movie ever!
Baby Name Voyager: Great website, even though the data isn’t that accessible (just graphs and then you can see the numbers on the graphs). It shows trends of baby names over time (as in how many people are named Bowman by year) which is really fun.
Databases - other institutions
A number other databases and online resources in Mathematics have been curated for you to look at.
EqWorld The World of Mathematical Equations
The international scientific-educational website EqWorld presents extensive information on solutions to various classes of ordinary differential, partial differential, integral, functional, and other mathematical equations. It also outlines some methods for solving equations, includes interesting articles, gives links to mathematical websites and software packages, lists useful handbooks and monographs, and refers to scientific publishers, journals, etc. The website includes a dynamic section Equation Archive which allows authors to quickly publish their equations (differential, integral, and other) and also exact solutions, first integrals, and transformations.
The EqWorld website is intended for researchers, university teachers, engineers, and students all over the world. It contains about 2000 webpages and is visited by over 3000 users a day (coming from 200 countries worldwide). All resources presented on this site are free to its users.
is the web's most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communities as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.
PlanetMath is a virtual community which aims to help make mathematical knowledge more accessible. PlanetMath's content is created collaboratively: the main feature is the mathematics encyclopedia with entries written and reviewed by members. The entries are contributed under the terms of the Creative Commons By/Share-Alike License in order to preserve the rights of authors, readers and other content creators in a sensible way.
Encyclopaedia of Mathematics
The Encyclopedia of Mathematics wiki is an open access resource designed specifically for the mathematics community. The original articles are from the online Encyclopaedia of Mathematics, published by Kluwer Academic Publishers in 2002. With more than 8,000 entries, illuminating nearly 50,000 notions in mathematics, the Encyclopaedia of Mathematics was the most up-to-date graduate-level reference work in the field of mathematics.