Professional Development resources on Dover: Specific educational needs

Providing 100 practical ideas to enhance and develop learning, this is a resourceful guide for anyone working to support pupils with social, emotional and behavioural difficulties. Each idea has been tried and tested. Ideas range from recognizing behaviour triggers and causes of escalation to developing and establishing effective behaviour management strategies.

A special-needs guide that 'comes to the rescue' (Carol Stock Kranowitz, author of The Out-of-Sync Child) of those who struggle with an increasingly common condition. Millions of children suffer from Nonverbal Learning Disorder, a neurological deficit that prevents them from understanding nonverbal cues like tone of voice and facial expressions. Though they can be exceptionally bright and articulate, these children often have difficulty in social situations, and can become depressed, withdrawn, or anxious. In this revised edition, Rondalyn Varney Whitney - a paediatric occupational therapist and the parent of a child with NLD - offers practical solutions, the latest information, and all-new activities that will help parents put their child on the path to a happy, fulfilling life. Topics include: Getting a diagnosis Developing a treatment plan Helping your child make friends Dealing with setbacks

This pick-and-mix treasure trove of advice is brimming with tried-and-tested strategies for managing behaviour in the secondary classroom. The book contains 100 completely new ideas including: suggested scripts and keywords designed to pacify even the most aggressive situation short-term and longer term strategies advice on pre-empting and avoiding challenging behaviour ideas for thinking on your feet in extreme circumstances This book will be invaluable to trainee teachers and NQTs, but it will also give experienced teachers new ideas and inspiration for better managing their students' behaviour.

This text presents practical teaching methods, strategies and techniques for meeting the needs of special education students, those labelled slow or remedial, and all others who struggle to learn in the mixed-abilities classroom.

Integrating established strategies with new methods derived from the recently developed Inference-Based Approach (IBA) to the treatment of OCD, this is a ground-breaking work. By initially laying the groundwork to help readers understand their condition, this book leads them through the decisions they will have to make about treatment, offering easy-to-use tools for preparing and carrying out their self-help program. By focusing on looking differently at life and relationships, following a healthy lifestyle and the practice of regular relaxation, this book is a practical guide to preventing relapse, and re-claiming an uninhibited life. Dr. Jan van Niekerk is a Clinical Psychologist and resides in Cambridge, UK.

This useful, resourceful and practical guide provides those working with autistic children one hundred ideas of how to support and develop their learning. Ideas range from developing pupils understanding and communication skills to ensuring they are comfortable within their learning environment.

Essential advice and resources for helping kids with dyslexia The Dyslexia Checklist is a valuable guide for parents and teachers that can help them better understand children and teenagers with dyslexia and other reading- and language-based disabilities. The book relays the most current research available and is filled with practical strategies, supports, and interventions. Using these tools teachers and parents can accommodate the needs and strengthen the skills of students with reading and writing disabilities across all age levels. The book is presented in a simple, concise, easy-to-read checklist format and is filled with useful advice and information on a wide range of topics. Explains what we now know about dyslexia from decades of research Contains games to strengthen a child's literacy and language skills Provides important information for hooking in reluctant and struggling readers Offers suggestions for enhancing skills in vocabulary, comprehension, composition and written expression, spelling, math, and more The book also provides information on the educational rights of students with dyslexia.

This practical guide provides anyone supporting children and young people with dyslexia with more than 100 great ideas for reinforcing their learning development. This second edition is up-to-date with the latest research and best practice on dyslexia, and includes a brand new section on differentiation in the classroom. There are also lots of additional ideas on topics including: ? emotional literacy ? peer support ? periods of transition in the child's school life ? developing phonic skills; and ? exam preparation This book of ready-to-use activities and strategies is perfect for the non-specialist teacher in need of extra guidance, but will also offer new ideas and insights to SENCOs, head teachers, parents and carers and anyone else working with a child or young person with dyslexia.

Groundbreaking and comprehensive, Driven to Distraction has been a lifeline to the approximately eighteen million Americans who are thought to have ADHD. Now the bestselling book is revised and updated with current medical information for a new generation searching for answers.   Through vivid stories and case histories of patients--both adults and children--Hallowell and Ratey explore the varied forms ADHD takes, from hyperactivity to daydreaming. They dispel common myths, offer helpful coping tools, and give a thorough accounting of all treatment options as well as tips for dealing with a diagnosed child, partner, or family member. But most importantly, they focus on the positives that can come with this "disorder"--including high energy, intuitiveness, creativity, and enthusiasm.

"This book is about helping youngsters with learning disabilities hold onto their dreams. It is also about helping their mothers and fathers negotiate the maze of challenges that so often leaves parents and students alike feeling overwhelmed and helpless."Writing with warmth and compassion Corinne Smith and Lisa Strick explain the causes, identification, and treatment of learning disabilities and present a wealth of practical strategies for helping youngsters become successful both in and out of the classroom:* Recognizing a learning problem that won't be "outgrown"* Designing an effective educational program that targets a student's strengths (not one that focuses only on weaknesses)* Negotiating effectively for what your child needs at school* Avoiding dead-end practices that rob students of motivation and self-esteem* Managing problem behaviors at home* Planning ahead for college and careerEnriched throughout with personal stories, case histories, and tips from parents who have "been there,"Learning Disabilities: A to Zis an easy-to-use, up-to-the-minute resource for parents and professionals who work with children and adolescents.

Concise and accessible, this plain English guide will help parents and educators to understand and support children with executive function difficulties at home and in the classroom.The author describes the cognitive processes that make up the executive functions, including attention, behavioral inhibition, theory of mind, organizational skills, time management, planning, decision-making, and self-talk. Using real examples, she describes how difficulties in each of these areas may manifest, and offers practical hints, tips, and accommodations for supporting children both in and out of school.Containing a wealth of helpful information as well as tried-and-tested strategies, this is the perfect primer for parents and educators of children with executive function difficulties.

This useful, resourceful and practical guide provides those working with dyspraxic and DCD children one hundred ideas of how to support and develop their learning. Lists cover the entire school age range and range from developing fine and gross motor skills to preparing children for their next transition either to the next stage of schooling or for their future careers.

"A must read for parents, educators, and people with dyslexia." -Gordon F. Sherman, Ph.D., Past-President International Dyslexia Association Did you know that many successful architects, lawyers, engineers--even bestselling novelists--had difficulties learning to read and write as children? In this groundbreaking book, Brock and Fernette Eide explain how 20% of people--individuals with dyslexia--share a unique learning style that can create advantages in a classroom, at a job, or at home. Using their combined expertise in neurology and education, the authors show how these individuals not only perceive the written word differently but may also excel at spatial reasoning, see insightful connections that others simply miss, understand the world in stories, and display amazing creativity. Blending personal stories with hard science, The Dyslexic Advantage provides invaluable advice on how parents, educators, and individuals with dyslexia can recognize and use the strengths of the dyslexic learning style in: material reasoning (used by architects and engineers); interconnected reasoning (scientists and designers), narrative reasoning (novelists and lawyers); and dynamic reasoning (economists and entrepreneurs.) With prescriptive advice and inspiring testimonials, this paradigm-shifting book proves that dyslexia doesn't have to be a detriment, but can often become an asset for success.

Some adolescents seem to act as if they have a volcano inside -- always on the verge of erupting into anger. They often generate discord and have combative relationships with parents, care givers and other adults who work with them. Adolescent Volcanoes is a practical resource for adults working with adolescents and their parents to help them understand, express and manage their anger. Featuring interactive worksheets and handouts throughout, it explores the causes of anger, focusing not only on the adolescent, but also on styles of parenting and situations at home that can exacerbate these feelings, and suggests ways to tone down confrontations and improve relationships. It describes models that explain the dynamics of arguments, such as 'power analysis' and 'positive intentions'. It also explains anger management tools such as 'escalators', 'time out', 'emotional awareness', 'triggers' and the 'four-part phrase'. By improving emotional management and communication, this resource will help adolescents to understand how to reduce attacking behavior and turn their anger into something positive. Adolescent Volcanoes can be used as the basis of counseling sessions and incident management. It will be invaluable for counselors, teachers, youth workers and social workers who work with adolescents.