LibGuides: MS Humanities: Vietnam War: Internet resources

The cold war in Asia

Ted Talk - Ho Chi Minh Trail

The Ho Chi Minh Trail not only connected North and South Vietnam during a brutal war but also aided Vietnamese soldiers. The trail shaved nearly five months of time off of the trip and was used as a secret weapon of sorts. In this TedEd lesson, Cameron Paterson describes the history and usage of the infamous trail.

Diigo feed "MS Humanities" Vietnam War

This is a list of some of the resources curated in diigo, follow the feed or visit the website to see the full resources.

Impact of the Vietnam war

Impact of the Vietnam war
The Vietnam war, took more than 2 millions lives, in which many of them are civilians. 3 millions were wounded, and hundreds of thousands of children were left orphans. The war ruined both North and South Vietnam.
Environmental impact of Agent Orange
For ten years the US Air Force flew nearly 20,000 herbicide spray missions in order to destroy the forest cover as well as agricultural lands in key areas of southern Viet Nam. More than five million acres of forests and agricultural lands were sprayed at least once approximately 10% of total land area of southern Viet Nam and about 20% of the forest cover.
Health Impact
Dioxin even in tiny amounts (parts per trillion) is associated with severe health damage that can shorten the lives of people exposed to it, and potentially that of their offspring and future generations.
Cluster Bombs & Mines - Vietnam
Vietnam is heavily contaminated by explosive remnants of war (ERW), mainly unexploded ordnance (UXO) and mostly dating back to the war with the United States (US) in the 1960s and first half of the 1970s. This includes among the most widespread and extensive contamination from cluster munition remnants in the world. There is, however, no precise figure for the extent of contamination remaining.

Vietnam estimates around 49,500km2 (15% of its total land area) is still contaminated by ERW. This represents a significant reduction from the previous estimate of contamination covering 66,000km2, which reportedly dated from 2002, but ERW still affects all of Vietnam’s 63 provinces and cities.
Cluster bombs - Laos
Unexploded ordnance (UXO) are explosive weapons (bombs, bullets, shells, grenades, land mines, naval mines, etc.) that did not explode when they were employed and still pose a risk of detonation, potentially many decades after they were used or discarded. About one third of Laos remains contaminated with UXO left behind from the Vietnam War, including about 80 million cluster munitions.

Online Resources

PBS - Vietnam series
A six-year project from conception to completion, Vietnam: A Television History carefully analyzes the costs and consequences of a controversial but intriguing war. From the first hour through the last, the series provides a detailed visual and oral account of the war that changed a generation and continues to color American thinking on many military and foreign policy issues.
Vietnam war movies
Britannica Online
World of Quotes
Search for quotes about the War, or about/by Ho Chi Minh
New Zealand's Vietnam War
The Vietnam War was NZ's longest and most contentious military experience of the twentieth century. Over 3000 New Zealanders served in South Vietnam from 1963 to 1975. Back home, the Vietnam War led to enormous political and public debate about New Zealand's foreign policy and place in the world.
Films & Books
A list of films and books about the Vietnam war and its aftermath.
The Vietnam archive
The Vietnam Archive mission is to collect and preserve the documentary record of the Vietnam War. The first collection received by the Archive - a package of letters from a Navy hospital corpsman to his family while serving in Vietnam - symbolizes our commitment to preserve the record of individuals and provide greater understanding of their experiences. While the Vietnam Archive continues this commitment as its primary objective, it has expanded its collection policy to include records of veterans' organizations and scholars of the period as well as other individuals and organizations who share experiences from the war in Vietnam.
Vietnam war Bibliography
This is primarily a bibliography of books, but a moderate number of articles are listed, created by Edwin E. Moïse
more...less...
The most important thing to remember, when using this bibliography, is that many books deal with more than one aspect of the Vietnam War, but few are listed in more than one section of this bibliography. I have tried to do the best I could. In some cases I have listed an item in more than one section, but usually I have either listed it only under the section for what I thought was its main topic, or listed it under "miscellaneous."

There are many books listed here that I have not actually read; surely in some cases I must have misunderstood what the book was about, and put it in a completely inappropriate category. So be imaginative about which categories to check, and don't forget to look under "Miscellaneous."

U.S. government publications are listed separately. There are many subjects for which you will find relevant materials somewhere in the rather long list of congressional committee hearings. In some categories under general (non-government) publications, I have included a link at the end to a related section under government publications.

The number of items that can be found on the Internet, in full, has been increasing. I have tried to give the direct link in such cases. Superscript numbers in red, like this14 in the table of contents, indicate the number of items in a particular section to which I have been able to give a link to the full text, available online.

I hope that you will find something of use to you here. Good Luck!

Ed Moïse

Copyright © 1996, 2002, 2003, 2005, Edwin E. Moïse. This document may be reproduced only if this copyright notice is reproduced with it. Revised January 15, 2005.
Vietnam War Statistics
Statistics on the Vietnam war by Statistics Brain
Vietnam War - Statistics Vietnamese
killed 3.8 million Vietnamese, not 2.1 million?
Casualties statistics