LibGuides: HIV/AIDS: Resources

Organisations

Centers for Disease Control - Public health agency of the United States. Provides factual and statistical information on HIV/AIDS as well as treatment options and a look at HIV/AIDS in a global context. Also includes comprehensive resources for further reference.
UNAIDS - The joint United Nations program "united the world against AIDS." Brings together the resources from ten United Nations organizations to prevent future HIV infections, provide assistance for those living with HIV/AIDS, and provide treatment options for individuals across the globe. Provides country-specific HIV/AIDS information and publications.
AIDS United - An organization that seeks to "build a natural strategy to end the epidemic" of HIV/AIDS. Provides information on HIV/AIDS-related legislation, state-specific AIDS/HIV information, and other public policy issues.
Avert.org - International HIV and AIDS charity that provides current and historical HIV/AIDS information. Includes comprehensive statistics, regional and ethic/social HIV/AIDS information, and fund raising opportunities.
The Center of Excellence for Transgender HIV Prevention - Funded by the California Department of Public Health. Provides information on research and resources for HIV/AIDS prevention in the transgender community.
AIDSinfo - A service project developed by the United States Department of Health of Human Services that offers current information on HIV/AIDS research, treatment, and prevention with federal approval. Includes clinical trials, medical guidelines, and drug reference guides.
National Institutes of Health - Another agency associated with the United States Department of Health and Human Services. Provides information on medical research and basic profiles of HIV and AIDS.
AIDS.gov - Official government site managed by the DHHS. Contains information on testing, prevention, education, research, demographics, and other agencies and programs that deal with HIV/AIDS. Links to podcasts about HIV/AIDS.
HIV InSite - "Comprehensive, up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy from the University of California San Francisco." Includes profiles and tables on various drugs, clinical trials, and countries.

Links to resources and information

Mayo Clinic AIDS (acquired immunodeficiency syndrome) is a chronic, potentially life-threatening condition caused by the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV). By damaging your immune system, HIV interferes with your body's ability to fight the organisms that cause disease....
CDC HIV Surveillence report
Keiser Family Foundation “Since we began in 1991, our goal has been to build an institution that plays a special role as a trusted source of information in a health care world dominated by vested interests. That institution-building process continues today.” – Drew Altman, Ph.D. President and CEO
HIV Insite HIV InSite Comprehensive, up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy from the University of California San Francisco
The Body Complete HIV/AIDS resource
Aids and conflict in Africa Below are links by topical categories to resources primarily in English on issues regarding AIDS and HIV infection as they relate to violent conflict in Africa. For related web links and regional issues, see Regional Resources: Africa.
US Census - AIDS The concept of the HIV/AIDS Surveillance Data Base was developed by the U.S. Census Bureau in consultation with the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) in 1987. The database was created to provide easy access to published results from the multitude of seroprevalence surveys and other studies that were being undertaken at the time. The database continues to be updated annually by the Census Bureau with the support of USAID to meet the needs of policy makers and program planners around the world.
WHO World Health Organisation resources including guidelines, advocacy, briefs etc.
UNICEF HIV/AIDS
UNICEF Children with AIDS
UN AIDS United Nations Aids organisation
UNESCO The HIV and AIDS Education Clearinghouse is a knowledge-sharing initiative, provided by UNESCO, with contributions from external partners. It brings together, on a single platform, existing resource centres on HIV, AIDS and education from seven UNESCO offices and institutes.
Aids Portal Welcome to the AIDSPortal website - the online resource supporting the community response to HIV. Search for HIV & AIDS related information, jobs and funding. Add your own information. Connect to people, groups and organisations from around the world. Content can be viewed in more than 50 languages.

Aids in Singapore

Statistics from MOH
In 2014, 456 new cases of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infections were reported among Singapore residents1. This brings the total number of HIV infected Singapore residents to 6,685 as of end 2014, of whom 1,737 have died ....
Action for Aids - Singapore
ACTION FOR AIDS (AFA) IS SINGAPORE’S LEADING INDEPENDENT ORGANISATION OF HIV EXPERTS

AFA is a non-governmental organisation dedicated to fighting AIDS/HIV infection in Singapore. It draws upon a network of healthcare professionals, advocates, educators and volunteers, to implement educational, testing, treatment and welfare programmes.
10 Myths
Can I get infected if I share a meal with someone who is living with HIV/AIDS? Can HIV/AIDS be treated? To understand and tackle the challenges caused by HIV and AIDS, it helps to clear up the common misconceptions that surround the virus and illness.
Article - NUS Campus Eye
For decades, AIDS in Singapore has been regarded a disease of homosexuals and sex workers. But that perception began to change in 2012 when newly-diagnosed HIV cases were split nearly down the middle, with 47 percent of them caused by heterosexual transmission and 45 percent through homosexual contact. Nearly all involved men.....
AIDS/HIV news Archive Singapore
Summary of news reports

Children and Aids

Children and Aids
Stocktaking reports on children and AIDS are the flagship publications of the Unite for Children, Unite against AIDS campaign. The United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) leads the development of these publications as part of its commitment to the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS), in collaboration with the 10 other UNAIDS co-sponsors.
UNAIDS brings together the resources of the UNAIDS Secretariat and 11 United Nations system organizations for coordinated and accountable efforts to unite the world against AIDS.

Gay rights organisations

International lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and intersex association
ILGA is a worldwide federation of 1100 member organisations from 110 countries campaigning for lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and intersex rights.
Since 1978.
5 Degrees
Founded in 2008, 5Degrees is a not-for-profit networking group for LGBTQ professionals to network, exchange ideas and tap into potential career and business opportunities. Through regular workshops, networking sessions and discussion groups, 5Degrees seeks to nurture a conducive business environment for LGBTQ-friendly individuals, organisations and enterprises. 5Degrees also organizes special projects and charity initiatives in aid of the LGBTQ community.
Indignation
IndigNation is Singapore’s very own LGBT Pride season. First organized in 2005 (in response to
the banning of the Nation Party that year) IndigNation has since grown into a full-fledged annual
celebration of the different aspects of Singaporean gay life – from talks to film screenings to illicit
mass runs and flash mob picnics. The season is its 8th year of running.
Pinkdot
For details of more organisations and support groups and resources.