Skip to Main Content
UWCSEA Libraries Logo

G4: Author's Craft: Anne Fine


Anne Fine

Click on the icon to see books in our catalogue


Preview Anne's Books on Google Books

About Anne

Anne Fine, OBE FRSL (born 7 December 1947) is a British writer, best known for children's books although she also writes for adults. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and she was awarded an OBE in 2003.

Fine has written more than fifty children's books including two winners of the annual Carnegie Medal and three highly commended runners-up.[3][a] For some of those five books she also won the Guardian Prize, one Smarties Prize, two Whitbread Awards, and she was twice the Children's Author of the Year.

For her contribution as a children's writer Fine was a runner-up for the Hans Christian Andersen Medal in 1998.[4][5] From 2001 to 2003 she was the second British Children's Laureate.

Read Anne's full biography on her website

Book Review

Websites about Anne

Anne Fine

Watch Bill's New Frock

Part One

Part Two

Part Three