These recommended websites have been researched by the library staff. Some are general in scope, whilst others are more specialist, so please use the brief reviews, written by the library staff, to help you select helpful websites.
"GloPAD (Global Performing Arts Database) records include authoritative, detailed, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators."
Theatre and dramaIntute: Theatre and drama provides free access to high quality resources on the Internet. Each resource has been evaluated and categorised by subject specialists based at UK universities.
"Maintained by Jack Wolcott, retired Associate Director and Graduate Program Coordinator for the University of Washington School of Drama, this site has many links connecting to sites created and maintained by faculty from other universities. Web links are arranged by time period such as "17th Century," and "Contemporary." Not strictly theater in content, some resources reflect historical art periods. Overall, the site contains vast amounts of Internet-based resources. Some dead links do exist."
The Performing Arts Encyclopedia (PAE) is a guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress. The PAE provides information about the Library's unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, and other materials. Users can find digitized items from the collections; special Web presentations on topics and collections; articles and biographical essays; finding aids to collections; databases for performing arts resources; information on concerts at the Library; and a special Performing Arts Resource Guide which contains entries for hundreds of Library collections, Web sites, databases and exhibits. (In the latter, each entry describes the resource and provides a link to it if there is an online finding aid or Web site available.
This pathfinder is for people who are interested in the backstage aspects of theatre, whether it be building sets, designing scenery, lighting a show, doing make-up, building costumes, or affecting the mood of a scene through music. This guide is divided into online sources (websites, mailing lists, newsgroups) and print sources.
The Costumer's Manifesto by Tara Maginnis, Ph.D. Copyright 1996-2014. You may print out any ofthese pages for non-profit educational use such as school papers, teacher handouts, orwall displays.You may link to any page in my site.
"The British Library holds a unique collection of drama, including live performances from the Royal National Theatre, the Royal Shakespeare Company and the Royal Court Theatre. Material is drawn from commercial releases, broadcasts, the BBC's sound archives and the Library's own live recording programme. " (Webpage information)