LibGuides: Cataloging @ UWCSEA East: Subject Headings

Definitions

TSH Topical Subject Headings are a 650 tag and are seen in all catalogs. These subject headings are usually taken from Sears or Library of Congress. Personal subject headings (600 tag) and Geographic subject headings (651 tag) are also usually taken from Sears or LOC and are visible in all catalogs.

LSH Local Subject Headings are a 690 tag and are seen in all catalogs. It is used for locally-created subject headings (not Sears or LOC created) that are general enough for all catalogs, for example Follett Shelf ebooks, or Nonfiction.

SSSH Site Specific Subject Headings are a 690 tag with subfield 5, where the subfield specifies which catalog the heading pertains to. SSSHs only appear in the catalog they've been assigned to via the subfield 5 information. For example, MS Buddy Reading titles is a heading only used in the East Secondary library, so it is an SSSH and will be invisible to all other catalogs.

Dover Primary is site 101.
Dover Secondary is site 100.

East Primary is site 102.
East Secondary is site 103.

Local Subject Headings

BBC 100 Must Reads Challenge.
Fiction
Nonfiction
Translations -- from English into French.

Site Specific Subject Headings

HSCL - HS English Dept. Class Libraries.
East Library iTunes account
MS Buddy reading titles (where there is either one library print copy and one ebook, or two library print copies, or two ebook copies.)
HS Buddy reading titles (where there is either one library print copy and one ebook, or two library print copies, or two ebook copies.
Multiple copies ebooks (usually from wheelers, where we've purchased more than one copy)
MS Reading Zone - Fiction section (library copies, *S\ call number, that have a MS sticker and are shelved spine-out on the MS shelves.)
MS Reading Zone - Nonfiction section (library copies, *S\ call number, that have a MS sticker and are shelved spine-out on the MS shelves.)
MS Reading Zone - Core Libraries Collection (multiple copies, SR\ENG call number, that are the titles that make up the Middle School core libraries. Copies are in each MS classroom and multiple copies are also shelved faceout in the library in the MS Reading Zone.)
MS Reading Zone - Browsing collection (multiple copies, SR\ENG call number, that are shelved faceout in the library in the MS Reading Zone.)
MS Gateway Reading (books that are easier reads, could be in the library or the classrooms, are shelved as per normal; i.e. these books are not in a special shelving section.
MS Springboard series -- for avid primary/middle school readers (SSSH added to title record of the first book in a series. Chosen titles are appropriate for upper primary advanced readers and middle school students.)

*S\BIOGRAPHY

Call number: *S\BIOGRAPHY
Collective biographies are 920 and the first word of the title.
Individual biographies are in 921 and the last name of the subject of the biography. For example, a biography of Winston Churchill written by Gretchen Rubin is *S\BIOGRAPHY 921 Churchill. This keeps all books about one person together on the shelf.

Subject Headings for biographies

KMLib Biography Collection (required) (SSSH) Example search
Nonfiction (required) (LSH)
Biography (required) (TSH) - might have additional Topical subject headings below as applicable.
- Autobiography - if the subject of the biography is also the author. Example record.
- Memoir - the author giving impressions of his or her life; less straightforward and less comprehensive than an autobiography. A memoir is written about oneself - the author and subject must be the same person.
- Personal narrative - usually a personal account of a historic event. This can be a stand-along Topical Subject Heading or it can be a subheading. For example, Iraq War, 2003-2011 -- Personal narratives.

*S\GB - Graphic Novels

Call number is *S\GB. For fiction titles, the last name of the author is used, for example *S\GB Gaiman For nonfiction titles, a dewey decimal number and the last name of the author is used, for example *S\GB 153.7 Sousanis

Subject Headings for Graphic Books

KMLib Graphic Books collection (required) (SSSH)
Fiction or Nonfiction (required) (LSH)
Graphic novels (required) (TSH)

*S\PLAYS

Call number is *S\PLAYS, then the author's last name.

Subject Headings for Plays

KMLib Plays collection (required) (SSSH)
Fiction (required) (LSH)
Playscripts (required) (TSH)
Drama (required) (TSH)

*S\POETRY

Call number is *S\POETRY.
Collections of poems by various authors is 808.80 and the first word of the title, for example *S\POETRY 808.80 Women for the book Women Poets of Japan.
Generally, a book of poems by one author is 808.81 and then the author's last name, for example *S\POETRY 808.81 Cohen

Subject Headings for Poetry

KMLib Poetry collection (required) (SSSH)
Poetry (required) (TSH)

*S\PRO

Call number is *S\PRO, then the Dewey number and the first three letters of the author's last name, for example *S\PRO 809 Her. If the book has an editor but not an author, then the first word of the title is used after the Dewey number, for example *S\PRO 375 Cur
Call numbers for ebooks in the professional collection are *S\EBOOK and the Dewey number, followed by the author's last name, for example *S\EBOOK 150 Law

Subject Headings for Professional books

KMLib Professional collection (required) (SSSH)
Nonfiction (required) (LSH)
Professional collection (required) (LSH)
Professional collection ebooks (required) (LSH)