Introduction - TOK - Theory of Knowledge - LibGuides at United World College of Southeast Asia

Link to the library catalogue

A number of items in the Library collection could be helpful when looking for resources and information to support your exploration of TOK. This link to the College library catalogue enables you to search under subject or topic terms.

College Library catalog

TOK Collection

There is a TOK collection in the Library. Please regard this as a 'starter' collection, as there are many other items in the larger Library print collection which can help you. In fact, the various tabs in this libguide contain recommendations or suggestions of print resources that are kept in the general collection, not just in the TOK collection.

Magazines and knowledge questions

Magazines contain current information which can help to examine knowledge questions. These include general interest magazines such as The Week, The Economist and Time magazine.

Current information provides stimulus material to help understand some of the abstract concepts in TOK, such as Philosophy Now

All these magazines are available in the Library.

Digital access to Philosophy Now

The library subscribes to a digital database of Philosophy Now.

The url is: https://philosophynow.org

Philosophy Now offers institutions digital access via IP ranges, so there is no log-in (that is purely for individual subscribers). Users can tell if they are in the subscribed version if they see "UWCSEA" in the top right corner of the screen.

Reading?

Don't have time to read a book about TOK? Time management is a big factor for DP students and others. The following tips may be helpful:

Don't think of necessarily reading a book 'from cover to cover'
Use the List of Contents to help you identify relevant chapters
Use the Index (usually at the back of the book) to help you identify relevant pages of information
Use skim and scan-reading techniques, e.g. looking for key terms, to ascertain relevant content
Use side headings, bold text and illustration headings to help get to relevant sections

TOK book of the week

The Forgiveness Project by Marina Cantacuzino
Call Number: 155.92 CAN
ISBN: 9781849055666
Publication Date: 2015
Examining themes of forgiveness, reconciliation and conflict transformation, this book brings together the personal testimonies of both survivors and perpetrators of crime and violence and asks the question whether forgiveness may have more currency than revenge in an age which seems locked into the cycle of conflict. The powerful real life stories collected by The Forgiveness Project come from ordinary people around the world in a diverse range of situations, including those who have transformed aggression into a driving force for peace. Raising the possibility of alternatives to resentment, retaliation and revenge, each story shows the very real impact of forgiveness (or lack of forgiveness) within a particular context, provoking questions such as 'what is forgiveness?', 'how can you respond to the unforgivable?' and 'can you move on without forgiveness?'Marina Cantacuzino's challenging, reflective introductory essay sets the stories in the larger context of approaches to forgiveness, from both religious and secular viewpoints, concluding that in the reality of lived experience forgiveness has a quality `as mysterious as love'.As with all good storytelling each personal narrative in this book reveals both the intimate in the epic and the epic in the intimate.The Forgiveness Project grew out of a conviction that people's perspectives only shift when they are able to hear the stories of others. In ten years it has become a high impact and influential charity that has wide application and a universal draw on people. Using real stories of victims and perpetrators, the charity sets out to explore concepts of forgiveness and conflict resolution in order to humanise the 'other', foster resilient relationships and help to dissolve tension.All royalties from the sale of this book will go to The Forgiveness Project.

IB Theory of Knowledge Guide

IB Theory of Knowledge Guide

Databases

The college subscribes to several useful databases of information. These are available through the College Portal. Once you have logged in, click on the bottom of the page to get the pull-up menu. Select "Reference Sites" and there are a number of databases listed.

For TOK, the following databases may be helpful:

Issues - Controversy and Society (ABC-Clio Databases)
JSTOR
Newsbank
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale Centage Learning)
Pressreader
Project Muse
ProQuest Central
SIRS Knowledge Source

New books about TOK in the College Library (Dover Campus)

Check resources on TOK - DP Librarian

DP Librarian

There are many internet sites that contain useful source and stimulus material for TOK purposes. On this Diigo curating account, resources have been tagged with TOK-related terms, e.g. Ways of Knowing, emotion, language, authority, etc.

DP Librarian - TOK
Online resources tagged with TOK terms.

Creator

This guide was created and maintained by Dr. Anthony Tilke, 2013-2015.

TOK - Theory of Knowledge: Introduction

Welcome

Welcome to this Libguide for TOK. This first page provides general information; following tabs or pages give specific suggestions of resources for different elements of the TOK course.

Each WoK (Way of Knowing) and AoK (Area of Knowledge) is listed separately under the general tabs above. Just hover the cursor over the relevant blue tab to see and select sub-pages/tabs. Suggested pbooks (books) are held in the Main Library on the Dover Campus.

We hope you find this information helpful. UWCSEA College Library Service, Dover Campus.