TOK - Theory of Knowledge: General TOK resources

The third edition of this highly acclaimed text is ideal for introductory courses in epistemology. Assuming little or no philosophical knowledge, it guides beginning students through the landmarks in epistemology, covering historically important topics as well as current issues and debates.

This comprehensive book introduces the concepts and theories central for understanding knowledge. It aims to reach students who have already done an introductory philosophy course.Topics covered include perception and reflection as grounds of knowledge, and the nature, structure, and varieties of knowledge. The character and scope of knowledge in the crucial realms of ethics, science and religion are also considered.Unique features of Epistemology :* Provides a comprehensive survey of basic concepts and major theories* Gives an up-to-date account of important developments in the field* Contains many lucid examples to support ideas* Cites key literature in an annotated bibliography.

Build TOK confidence right from the start. Ensure learners truly understand all the essential TOK foundations and provide a practical learning scaffold to confidently progress them onto higher order thinking. Comprehensively supporting the TOK course book and mapped to the 2013 syllabus, this focused guide distils the big TOK ideas and builds student confidence right from the start.

"Knowing how we know" is the subject of this book. Its authors present a new view of cognition that has important social and ethical implications, for, they assert, the only world we humans can have is the one we create together through the actions of our coexistence. Written for a general audience as well as for students, scholars, and scientists and abundantly illustrated with examples from biology, linguistics, and new social and cultural phenomena, this revised edition includes a new afterword by Dr. Varela, in which he discusses the effect the book has had in the years since its first publication.

A new, full-colour edition of the best-selling Theory of Knowledge for the IB Diploma. Now available as a full-colour version, this is a comprehensive, best-selling title for the Theory of Knowledge course in the IB Diploma Programme. It is also useful for students following other critical thinking courses. The fundamental question in Theory of Knowledge is 'How do you know?' In exploring this question, the author encourages students to ask relevant questions, use language with care and precision, support ideas with evidence, argue coherently and make sound judgements.

Developed in collaboration with the International Baccalaureate Organization, Oxford's Course Companions provide extra support for students taking IB Diploma Program courses. They present a whole-course approach with a wide range of resources, and encourage a deep understanding of each subject by making connections to wider issues and providing opportunities for critical thinking. This companion stimulates students to think about learning and knowledge from their own and from others' perspectives in a way that crosses disciplines and cultures. It encourages reflection, discussion, critical thinking, and awareness or the ways in which knowledge is constructed, and will students to recognize the implications of knowledge for issues of global concern.

Written by experienced practitioners this resource for Theory of Knowledge for the IB Diploma offers comprehensive coverage of and support for the new subject guide. Decoding Theory of Knowledge (ToK) is an accessible new resource that explores Areas of Knowledge, Ways of Knowing, Personal and Shared Knowledge, the Knowledge Framework and Knowledge Questions. Written in succinct and clear language, this engaging book decodes ToK concepts and helps students develop their critical thinking skills. The book offers extensive support on the new assessment criteria for the essay and presentation. Features include explanation of key concepts to consolidate knowledge and understanding; real-life situations to engage students; practical activities to develop students' thinking, writing and presentation skills; and top tips to provide further guidance and advice.

Published by the International Baccalaureate.

This volume represents the most comprehensive and authoritative collection of canonical readings in theory of knowledge. It is ideal as a reader for all courses in epistemology.

The Theory of Knowledge explores the nature and extent of knowledge. It looks at the key questions: what do we know? How do we know it? and analyses our right to the beliefs we have, how we acquire them and whether we can take them to be knowledge. Via key philosophy texts, in particular Descartes' Medtations, The Theory of Knowledge covers the following four areas: - Empiricism and Rationalism - Knowledge and Justification - Knowledge and Scepticism - Knowledge of the External World.

200 world-changing concepts explained in an instant.

Epistemology is often an important foundation component of philosophy courses. This student textbook provides a clear overview of the topic and includes activities to get the reader thinking about these ideas.