Global Perspectives: Wealth & Poverty: Books @ East

Rethinking globalization : teaching for justice in an unjust world. Milwaukee, Wis. : Rethinking Schools Press, c2002.
Contains resources for teaching about some of the problems facing the world in the twenty-first century, such as AIDS, inequality, child labor, food shortages, and environmental degradation; featuring readings, lesson plans, articles, role plays, interviews, poems, and cartoons.

Friedman, Thomas L. The world is flat : a brief history of the twenty-first century. 1st Picador ed. New York : Picador/Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2007, c2005.
pt. [1]: How the world became flat. While I was sleeping -- The ten forces that flattened the world: 11/9/89 (when the walls came down and the windows went up) ; 8/9/95 (when Netscape went public) ; Work flow software (let's do lunch: have your application talk to my application) ; Open-sourcing (self-organizing collaborative communities) ; Outsourcing (Y2K) ; Offshoring (when China joined the WTO) ; Supply-chaining (Wal-Mart) ; Insourcing (UPS) ; In-forming (Google, Yahoo!, MSN Web Search) ; The steroids (digital, mobile, personal, and virtual) -- The triple convergence -- The great sorting-out. -- pt. [2]: America and the flat world. America and free trade (is Ricardo still right?) -- The untouchables -- The quiet crisis -- This is not a test. -- pt. [3] Developing countries and the flat world. The virgin of Guadalupe. -- pt. [4] Companies and the flat world. How companies cope. -- pt. [5] Geopolitics and the flat world. The unflat world -- The Dell theory of conflict prevention. -- Conclusion. Imagination: 11/9 versus 9/11. Contains an overview of the global political and economic change since the turn of the twenty-first century, discussing the rapid developments in technologies that has allowed India and China to become part of a growing supply chain of manufacturing impacting global markets.

Lewis, Barbara A., 1943-. The teen guide to global action : how to connect with others (near & far) to create social change. Minneapolis, MN : Free Spirit Publishing, c2008.
Includes real-life stories, hands-on activities, and up-to-date resources that inspire kids to make significant social changes in the world around them such as fighting hunger and poverty, promoting health and human rights, and saving the environment.

Gilding, Paul, 1959-. The great disruption : why the climate crisis will bring on the end of shopping and the birth of a new world. 1st U.S. ed. New York : Bloomsbury Press, 2011.
An economic and social hurricane -- The scream : we are their children's children -- A very big problem -- Beyond the limits : the great disruption -- Addicted to growth -- Global foreshock : the year that growth stopped -- The road ahead : our planetary sat nav -- Are we finished? -- When the dam of denial breaks -- The one degree war -- How an Austrian economist could save the world -- Creative destruction on steroids : out with the old, in with the new -- Shifting sands : from Middle Eastern oil to Chinese sun -- The elephant in the room : growth doesn't work -- The happiness economy -- Yes, there is life after shopping -- No, the poor will not always be with us -- Ineffective inequality -- The future is here, it's just not widely distributed yet -- Guess who's in charge?. Argues that the world is on the brink of an economic and ecological change that will bring about the greatest change humanity has ever seen and completely transform the world economic model and the way people live their lives.

D'Aluisio, Faith, 1957-. Women in the material world. San Francisco : Sierra Club Books, 1998.
Photographs and interviews reveal different aspects of the lives of women in twenty countries throughout the world.

Kenny, Charles. Getting better : why global development is succeeding--and how we can improve the world even more. New York : Basic Books, c2011.
Abandoning hope -- The bad news : diverging incomes -- The worse news : it's hard to raise growth rates -- The good news : the end of the Malthusian trap -- The better news : the great convergence in quality of life -- The great news : the best things in life are cheap -- Drivers of the better life : innovation and ideas -- Policies for quality of life -- The global agenda -- Conclusion : realistic optimism. Traces developments and growth in the global economy from the 1950s to the early twenty-first century, describing improvements in quality of life, and discussing the impact of advancing technologies on health, education, politics, and other aspects of life and culture.

Wilkinson, Richard G. The spirit level : why greater equality makes societies stronger. New York : Bloomsbury Press, 2010.
The end of an era -- Poverty or inequality? -- How inequality gets under the skin -- Community life and social relations -- Mental health and drug use -- Physical health and life expectancy -- Obesity : wider income gaps, wider waists -- Educational performance -- Teenage births : recycling deprivation -- Violence : gaining respect -- Imprisonment and punishment -- Social mobility : unequal opportunities -- Dysfunctional societies -- Our social inheritance -- Equality and sustainability -- Building the future. The findings of a study that links the gap between its richest and poorest members with the health and well-being of a society.

Leonard, Annie. The story of stuff : how our obsession with stuff is trashing the planet, our communities, and our health--and a vision for change. 1st Free Press hardcover ed. New York : Free Press, 2010.
A word about words -- Extraction -- Production -- Distribution -- Consumption -- Disposal -- Writing the new story -- Examples of promising policies, reforms, and laws -- Recommended individual actions -- Sample letter to PVC retailers, manufacturers, and lobbyists -- How we made this book. Annie Leonard explains how the stuff people use every day is destroying the world, describing the waste and environmental damage that is created by the production, distribution, consumption, and disposal of material objects.

Maathai, Wangari. The challenge for Africa. 1st Anchor Books ed. New York : Anchor Books, 2010, c2009.
The farmers of Yaoundé -- The legacy of woes -- Pillars of good governance : the three-legged stool -- Aid and the dependency syndrome -- Deficits : Indebtedness and unfair trade -- Leadership -- Moving the social machine -- Culture : the missing link -- The crisis of national identity -- Embracing the micro-nations --Land ownership : Whose landis it, anyway? -- Environment and development -- Saving the Congo forest -- The African family. Examines the unique challenges Africans are facing in the twenty-first century, identifying the cultural, government, social, and economic struggles that are destroying the continent and it's people and encouraging Africans to take matters into their own hands in order to bring prosperity and hope to the region.

Rea, Tony. International relations 1914-1995. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 1997.
1. An introduction to international relations in the twentieth century; PART ONE: THE OLD ORDER; 2. The war to end all wars, 1914-1919; 3. Peace making, 1919-1920; PART TWO: CHALLENGES TO THE OLD ORDER; 4. The League years, 1919-1936; 5. The road to world war, 1933-1941; 6. The war years, 1939-1945; PART THREE: TOWARDS A NEW WORLD ORDER; 7. World war to Cold War; 8. Cold War to Detente; 9. The USSR and Eastern Europe, 1945-1991; 10. Towards a united Europe; PART FOUR: CASE STUDIES IN INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS, 1945-1995; 11. Britain's changing role in the world, 1945-1983; 12. Vietnam, 1945-1975; 13. The role of the United Nations; 14. The Middle-East, 1948-1995; 15. The impact of the two World Wars on Britain. Aims to provide the content required by the GCSE syllabuses. This book also includes many visual and written sources to aid students' understanding of the topics covered.

Sowell, Thomas, 1930-. Basic economics : a common sense guide to the economy. 4th ed. New York : Basic Books, c2011.
What is economics? -- pt. I. Prices and markets. The role of prices ; Price controls ; An overview -- pt. II. Industry and commerce. The rise and fall of businesses ; The role of profits--and losses ; Big business and government ; An overview -- pt. III. Work and pay. Productivity and pay ; Controlled labor markets ; An overview -- pt. IV. Time and risk. Investment and speculation ; Risks and insurance ; An overview -- pt. V. The national economy. National output ; Money and the banking system ; Government functions; Government finance; An overview -- pt. VI. The international economy. International trade ; International transfers of wealth ; An overview -- pt. VII. Special economic issues. Myths about markets; "Non-economic" values ; Parting thoughts. A comprehensive introduction to economics that explains economic principles with real-world examples from history in clear, jargon-free language; and also covers child labor laws, the national debt, working conditions of the Third World, the gold standard, "exploitation" theories, and other related topics.

Sowell, Thomas, 1930-. Economic facts and fallacies. 2nd ed. New York : Basic Books, c2011.
The power of fallacies -- Urban facts and fallacies -- Male-female facts and fallacies -- Academic facts and fallacies -- Income facts and fallacies -- Racial facts and fallacies -- Third world facts and fallacies -- Parting thoughts. Explains the fundamentals of economics through the analysis of fallacies many believe to be true about various issues related to urban populations, male and female differences, academics, income, race, and third world countries.

Allen, Robert C., 1947-. Global economic history : a very short introduction. Oxford ; : Oxford University Press, 2011.
The great divergence -- The rise of the West -- The Industrial Revolution -- The ascent of the rich -- The great empires -- The Americas -- Africa -- The standard model and late industrialization -- Big Push industrialization. A concise introduction to global economic history, discussing analyses of historical examples of the factors that have influenced growth of nations causing the unequal world of today and explores the interplay of geography, globalization, technological change, economic policy, and institutions.

The global citizen's handbook : facing our world's crises and challenges. 1st U.S. ed. New York : Collins ;, 2007.
Identifies some of the challenges and crises facing the world in the early twenty-first century, including AIDS, poverty pollution, and others, and features country comparisons, with maps, graphs, statistics, and photographs.

Hynson, Colin. New global economies. Mankato, Minn. : Sea-to-Sea, 2010.
What is a new global economy? -- The rise of new global economies -- New global economy-China -- New global economy-India -- Populations in the new global economies -- Education in the new global ecomomies -- Rich and poor -- Workers' rights -- Child labour -- Politics and human rights -- Environmental concerns -- The growth of the city -- New world powers -- Looking for resources -- Global culture -- The impact on the developed world -- The future -- Glossary -- Weblinks. Describes world economic conditions in an age of globalism, considering child labor, education, human rights, and the rise of developing nations.

Kiyosaki, Robert T., 1947-. Rich dad poor dad for teens : the secrets about money - that you don't learn in school! 1st ed. New York : Warner Books, c2004.
Contains a practical guide about money and investing and how to make the right choices that lead to financial freedom including advice on managing assets and debts.

Epping, Randy Charles. A beginner's guide to the world economy : eighty-one basic economic concepts that will change the way you see the world. 3rd Vintage Books ed. New York : Vintage Books, 2001.
Provides answers to eighty-one questions about the world economy, covering macroeconomics, globalization, virtual money, inflation, free trade, venture capital, E-commerce, NAFTA, and many other topics.

Yunus, Muhammad, 1940-. Banker to the poor : micro-lending and the battle against world poverty. New York : PublicAffairs, c2003.
Muhammad Yunus discusses the obstacles he overcame in setting up a bank devoted to providing the poor of Bangladesh with small loans.

Yergin, Daniel. The quest : energy, security and the remaking of the modern world. UK : Allen Lane, an imprint of Penguin Books, 2011.
This sequel to The Prize provides a narrative of global energy, the principal engine of geopolitical and economic change. Energy authority Yergin tells the inside stories of the oil market, the rise of the "petrostate," the race to control the resources of the former Soviet empire, and the massive corporate mergers that transformed the oil landscape. He shows how the drama of oil will continue to shape our world, and takes on the tough questions: will we run out of oil, and are China and the United States destined to conflict over oil? He also reveals the surprising and turbulent history of nuclear, coal, electricity, and natural gas, and investigates the "rebirth of renewables", biofuels, wind, and solar energy. He further offers an original history of how the issue of climate change went from concerning a handful of scientists to one of the overarching issues of our times.--From publisher description.

Global issues for global citizens : an introduction to key development challenges. Washington, DC : World Bank, c2006.
World Bank specialists examine key development issues that require international action for resolution, including poverty, communicable diseases, climate change, access to water, conflicts, and twelve others.

Collier, Paul. The bottom billion : why the poorest countries are failing and what can be done about it. Oxford ; : Oxford University Press, 2008.
Falling behind and falling apart : the bottom billion -- The conflict trap -- The natural resource trap -- Landlocked with bad neighbors -- Bad governance in a small country -- On missing the boat : the marginalization of the bottom billion in the world economy -- Aid to the rescue? -- Military intervention -- Laws and charters -- Trade policy for reversing marginalization -- An agenda for action. Global poverty, economist Collier points out, is actually falling quite rapidly for about 80% of the world. The real crisis lies in a group of about 50 failing states, the bottom billion, whose problems defy traditional approaches to alleviating poverty. Here, Collier contends that these fifty failed states pose the central challenge of the developing world in the twenty-first century. This group of small nations, largely unnoticed by the industrialized West, are dropping further and further behind the majority of the world's people, often falling into an absolute decline in living standards. A struggle rages within each of these nation between reformers and corrupt leaders--and the corrupt are winning. Collier analyzes the causes of failure, and offers a bold new plan.--From publisher description.

Sachs, Jeffrey. Common wealth : economics for a crowded planet. New York : Penguin Books, 2009, c2008.
Argues that the increasing world population will soon require a new economic paradigm that requires every person to become more cooperative, environmentally aware, and science based in order to deal with the realities of the overcrowded planet.

Seitz, John L, 1931-. Global issues : an introduction. 3rd ed. Malden, MA : Blackwell Publishing, c2008.
Introduction: The creation of global issues -- Wealth and poverty -- Population -- Food -- Energy -- The environment -- Technology -- Alternative futures. Global Issues, Third Edition is an introduction to many of the most important environmental, economic, social, and political concerns of modern life.

Bojang, Ali Brownlie. Aid and development. Mankato, Minn. : Smart Apple Media, c2009.
Introduction -- Global poverty and development -- Disasters and humanitarian aid -- Aid from governments -- Non-governmental organizations -- Challenges for aid and development -- The great debate -- Facts and figures. Examines the positive and negative effects of aid given by richer countries to poorer countries.

Connolly, Sean, 1956-. International aid and loans. Mankato, MN : Amicus, c2011.
A global view -- Helping others -- From nation to nation -- Agreeing on terms -- People to people -- Putting money to work -- Stacking the cards -- The debt burden -- Different voices -- New generations -- Focus on the future. Examines how international aid and loans impacts the global economy, discusses how richer, developed countries try to help poorer countries, explains why that help is beneficial to both the lender and borrower, and explores why some people oppose lending to other countries.

Moyo, Dambisa. Dead aid : why aid makes things worse and how there is another way for Africa. London : Penguin, 2010.

Milanović, Branko. The haves and the have-nots : a brief and idiosyncratic history of global inequality. New York : Basic Books, c2011.
Draws on history, literature, and news stories to examine inequality of wealth throughout the world, and discuss its influence and significance.

Gerth, Karl, 1966-. As China goes, so goes the world : how Chinese consumers are transforming everything. 1st pbk. ed. New York : Hill and Wang, 2011, c2010.
Describes the American-style consumer culture adopted by Chinese consumers and examines how their spending habits are influencing global society.

Novogratz, Jacqueline. The blue sweater : bridging the gap between rich and poor in an interconnected world. New York : Rodale, c2009.
Innocent abroad -- A bird on the outside, a tiger within -- Context matters -- Basket economics and political realities -- The blue bakery -- Dancing in the dark -- Traveling without a road map -- A new learning curve -- Blue paint on the road -- Retribution and resurrection -- The cost of silence -- Institutions matter -- The education of a patient capitalist -- Building brick by brick -- Taking it to scale -- The world we dream, the future we create together. The author, a former international banker, relates her experiences trying to understand global poverty and working with the poor, and suggests ways in which the situation should be addressed.

Sachs, Jeffrey. The end of poverty : economic possibilities for our time. New York : Penguin Books, 2006, c2005.
The author shares what he has learned about global poverty through visits to more than one hundred countries, and presents his plan for ending extreme poverty around the world by the year 2025.

Banerjee, Abhijit V. Poor economics : a radical rethinking of the way to fight global poverty. 1st ed. New York : PublicAffairs, c2011.
Think again, again -- A billion hungry people? -- Low-hanging fruit for better (global) health? -- Top of the class -- Pak Sudarno's big family -- Barefoot hedge-fund managers -- The men from Kabul and the eunuchs of India : the (not so) simple economics of lending to the poor -- Saving brick by brick -- Reluctant entrepreneurs -- Policies, politics. Argues that anti-poverty policy frequently fails due to a lack of understanding of poverty, offers insight into the flaws in many ideas about poverty, and explains better ways to approach issues related to the economic lives of the poor.

Portfolios of the poor : how the world's poor live on $2 a day. Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, c2009.
The portfolios of the poor -- The daily grind -- Dealing with risk -- Building blocks : creating usefully large sums -- The price of money -- Rethinking microfinance : the Grameen II diaries -- Better portfolios. Reports on the findings of a yearlong study of how poor people in Bangladesh, India, and South Africa manage their money--which averages about two dollars a day, reveals the financial relationships they have developed to save money and pay debt, and discusses the implications of these behaviors for eliminating poverty.

Jolly, Richard. UN ideas that changed the world. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c2009.

Vachon, Marc. Rebel without borders : frontline missions in Africa and the Gulf. Toronto : ECW Press, c2008.

Polman, Linda. The crisis caravan : what's wrong with humanitarian aid? 1st U.S. ed. New York : Metropolitan Books, 2010.
Examines the methods and practices of humanitarian aid workers in the early twenty-first century and proposes a new, ethical approach to humanitarian aid.

Polman, Linda. War games : the story of aid and war in modern times. London : Penguin Books, 2011, c2010.

O'Clery, Conor. The billionaire who wasn't : how Chuck Feeney secretly made and gave away a fortune. New York : Public Affairs, c2007.
Recounts how Chuck Feeney, the co-founder of Duty Free Shoppers, the world's largest duty-free retail chain, made his fortune and immediately donated the vast majority of his wealth to charitable foundations, making Feeney the most generous and secretive philanthropist in the world, and encourages others to follow his giving while living way of life.

Anderson, Judith, 1965-. Ending poverty and hunger. Mankato, Minn. : Sea-to-Sea, 2010.
Relates the stories of four children from around the world who are affected by poverty and hunger, describes actions taken to fulfill the United Nations' Millennium Development goal to get rid of extreme poverty and hunger, and provides suggestions for ways readers can help.

Cotts, Nat. AIDS & science. New York : AlphaHouse, c2009.
Discusses the identification, treatment, and prevention of AIDS, covering the initial discovery of the first cases in 1981, the transmittal of HIV from one person to another, education in schools and through the media, and more, with illustrations, a glossary, and real-life examples.

Ellis, Deborah, 1960-. Our stories, our songs : African children talk about AIDS. Pbk. ed. Markham, Ont. ; : Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2006, c2005.
Presents the stories of children from the African nations of Malawi and Zambia whose lives have been touched by AIDS, and provides facts about the AIDS epidemic in Africa.

Gelletly, LeeAnne. AIDS and health issues. Philadelphia : Mason Crest Publishers, c2007.
Presents an overview of the health crisis in Africa, discussing HIV/AIDS, malaria, tuberculosis, and other diseases and illnesses; their causes; and what can be done about the problem.

Nelson, Sheila. Aids & society. New York : AlphaHouse, c2009.
Explores how the AIDS epidemic has influenced societies across the globe, and discusses how societies touched by the disease have responded and changed.

Simons, Rae, 1957-. AIDS & poverty. New York : AlphaHouse, c2009.
Examines the relationship between AIDS and poverty, providing definitions of each, and discusses how they are connected, how people are trying to overcome the problem, and other related topics.

Gifford, Clive. Poverty. Mankato, Minn. : Smart Apple Media, c2010.
What is poverty? -- How is poverty measured? -- What is extreme poverty like? -- Does poverty occur only in poor countries? -- How do people get trapped in poverty? -- Is bad government to blame? -- Should we cancel poor countries' debts? -- Do rich countries hold poor people back? -- Should the poor help themselves more? -- Shouldn't poor people have fewer children? -- Is poverty inevitable? -- Can foreign aid attack poverty? -- Shouldn't we help those at home rather than abroad? -- Is charity the answer? -- Won't globalization solve poverty? -- Can welfare keep people in poverty? -- Could rich people do more? -- Is there hope for the future?. Charts, graphs, and individual profiles offer a detailed overview of global poverty, its main causes, government response, and the experiences of individuals who are suffering from poverty in various countries.

Lüsted, Marcia Amidon. Poverty. Edina, Minn. : ABDO Pub., c2010.
What is poverty? -- A history of poverty -- Poverty today -- The underlying causes -- Homelessness -- Poverty and education -- Poverty and health -- Poverty and mental health -- The social issues of poverty -- Addressing poverty. Examines the impact poverty has on society as a whole, identifies its underlying causes, discusses how it is addressed by the government, and describes its impact on a person's mental health.

Marland, Sarah. World poverty for dummies. Milton, Qld. : Wiley Publishing Australia, c2008.

Singer, Peter, 1946-. The life you can save : acting now to end world poverty. 1st ed. New York : Random House, c2009.
Discusses world poverty in the twenty-first century, and describes the ethical reasons to support a seven- point plan to improve the lives of impoverish peoples, which includes determining how much to spend, how to spend it, raising political awareness within local communities, and contacting representatives.

Tough, Paul. Whatever it takes : Geoffrey Canada's quest to change Harlem and America. 1st Mariner Books ed. Boston : Mariner Books, 2009, c2008.
The lottery -- Unequal childhoods -- Baby college -- Contamination -- Battle mode -- Bad apples -- Last chance -- The conveyer belt -- Escape velocity -- Graduation -- What would it take?. Explores how Geoffrey Canada is attempting to change the lives of poor children in America through his Harlem Children's Zone, a ninety-seven-block lab in Harlem where Canada and his staff test new and controversial ideas about poverty in the United States, including his theory that poor children need everything in their lives, including their schools, neighborhoods, and family practices, changed in order to compete with their middle-class peers.

Youngs, Bettie B. The house that love built : the story of Millard & Linda Fuller, founders of Habitat for Humanity and the Fuller Center for Housing. Charlottesville, VA : Hampton Roads Pub. Co., c2007.
Recounts Millard and Linda Fuller's creation of Habitat for Humanity, describing how the couple decided to use their personal wealth to help other rebuild their homes, giving them a chance at a better life, and explores the spiritual and emotional satisfaction the Fuller's gained from their experiences.

Gritzner, Charles F. Feeding a hungry world. New York : Chelsea House Publishers, c2010.
Explores issues concerning the world's population growth and the possibility of food shortages in the near future.

Kamberg, Mary-Lane, 1948-. Bono : fighting world hunger and poverty. 1st edn. New York : The Rosen Publishing Group, 2009.
The garden of Eden -- Trip to the heartland -- Early political activism -- The good voice -- Doing what he can -- Is it working?. Provides an introduction to Bono, lead singer of the band U2, focusing on how he uses his celebrity to raise awareness and money to save African nations from hunger, disease, and poverty.

Russell, Sharman Apt. Hunger : an unnatural history. Pbk. ed. New York : Basic Books, 2006, c2005.
Investigates the effects of long-term hunger, including self-imposed fasts to make either a spiritual or political statement, and discusses the impact of famines and starvation on cultures around the world.

Anderson, Judith, 1965-. Education for all. Mankato, Minn. : Sea-to-Sea, 2010.
Relates the stories of four children from around the world who struggle to become educated, describes actions taken to fulfill the United Nations' Millennium Development goal to have accessible primary education for all by 2015, and provides suggestions for ways readers can help.

Mortenson, Greg. Stones into schools : promoting peace with books, not bombs, in Afghanistan and Pakistan. Camberwell, Vic. : Viking, 2009.
Summary: Greg Mortenson recountsng his ongoing efforts to establish schools for girls in Afghanistan, his extensive work in Azad Kashmir and Pakistan after a massive earthquake hit the region in 2005 and the unique ways he has built relationships with Islamic clerics, militia commanders, and tribal leaders.

Mortenson, Greg. Three cups of tea : one man's extraordinary journey to promote peace...one school at a time. London : Penguin, c2006.
Greg Mortenson recounts the experiences he had while trying to help impoverished villages in Pakistan's Karakoram Himalaya build schools for their children.

Tooley, James. The beautiful tree : a personal journey into how the world's poorest people are educating themselves. Washington, D.C. : Cato Institute, c2009.
James Tooley recounts his experiences researching private schools in India and trying to find a way to provide universal education to the country's children, despite drastic levels of poverty.

The World Trade Organization. Detroit : Greenhaven Press, c2010.
Explores debates about the World Trade Organization, discussing the organization's role, its impact on American interests, how it can be improved, and how the United States relates to the organization and its activities.

Reis, Ronald A. The World Trade Organization. New York : Chelsea House, c2009.
Traders and raiders -- Globalization -- The World Trade Organization takes the stage -- The environment and the WTO -- Workers of the world and the WTO -- Public safety and the WTO -- Intellectual property rights and the WTO -- The development agenda. Explores the history and origin of the World Trade Organization, discusses controversies and conflicts the organization has faced, and examining how it has helped individuals who live in poverty and sickness.

Bortolotti, Dan. Hope in hell : inside the the world of Doctors Without Borders. Updated 3rd ed. Buffalo, N.Y. ; : Firefly Books, c2010.
An often harrowing account of the men and women who struggle to improve the lives of people in desperate need. The humanitarian organization, Doctors Without Borders (also known as Médecins Sans Frontières or MSF) delivers emergency aid to victims of armed conflict, epidemics, natural disasters and those who lack reliable health care. Each year, more than 2,500 volunteer doctors, nurses, and other professionals join locally-hired staff to provide medical aid in more than eighty countries. This book follows these volunteers as they risk their health and lives to treat patients in need. It also covers the raucous founding of Doctors Without Borders in 1971 as the first non-governmental organization to both provide emergency medical assistance and publicly bear witness to the plight of the populations they served. In 1999, the organization was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.--From publisher description.

Giblin, James. When plague strikes : the Black Death, smallpox, AIDS. 1st Harper Trophy ed. New York : HarperCollinsPublishers, 1997, c1995.
Out of the East -- Between two raging fires -- Looking for scapegoats -- A changed world -- The plague returns -- The mysterious death of a Pharaoh -- Smallpox conquers the New World -- Inoculation : godsend or danger? -- Dr. Jenner's marvelous vaccine -- The end of smallpox? -- A mysterious new disease -- Frustrations and fears -- One mystery is solved -- An actor named Rock -- A normal happy teenager -- Losses and memorials -- No end in sight. Details the stories of the three most serious and damaging diseases in history: bubonic plague, smallpox, and AIDS.

Whiteside, Alan. HIV/AIDS : a very short introduction. Oxford ; : Oxford University Press, 2008.
The emergence and state of the HIV/AIDS epidemic -- How HIV/AIDS works and scientific responses -- The factors that shape different epidemics -- Illness, deaths, and populations -- The impact of AIDS on production and people -- AIDS and politics -- Responding to HIV/AIDS -- The next 25 years. Provides a brief introduction to issues concerning HIV and AIDS, covering epidemics, illness, deaths, the impact of AIDS on production and people, politics, research and other related topics.

Aldridge, Susan. AIDS. North American ed. Mankato, MN : New Forest Press, 2010.
Examines the moral and scientific issues that affect AIDS research, profiles scientists working in the field, and describes developments and discoveries.

Quicksand : HIV/AIDS in our world. 1st ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2009.
The author explores the emotions and feelings of friends and family members of someone who has been diagnosed with the HIV virus, and discusses medical information and the importance of receiving treatment immediately.

Dorling, Daniel. The atlas of the real world : mapping the way we live. New York : Thames & Hudson, 2008.
Presents digitally modified maps that depict the world's countries and regions by their demographic importance rather than their physical size, compiling data on population, health, wealth, imports, exports, and other topics.

Larkin, Emma. Everything is broken : a tale of catastrophe in Burma. New York : Penguin Press, 2010.
Skyful of lies -- No bad news for the king -- Everything is broken. A detailed account of the devastating aftermath of the 2008 cyclone that hit Burma leaving over one hundred thousand people dead or missing and the government's refusal to help its people or permit outside aid into the country.

The atlas of Cambodia : national poverty and environment maps. Phnom Penh, Cambodia : Save Cambodia's Wildlife, 2006.

Temple, Bob. Haiti. Philadelphia, PA : Mason Crest Publishers, c2009.
The land : rugged beauty and environmental devastation -- A troubled history -- Underdeveloped economy, grinding poverty -- African influences : the culture and people -- Haiti's cities -- A calendar of Haitian festivals -- Recipes. An introduction to Haiti, discussing the history, economy, people, communities, and culture of the Caribbean nation, and including a calendar of Haitian festivals, recipes, a glossary, project and report ideas, a chronology, and resources.

Poetry & protest : a Dennis Brutus reader. Chicago : Haymarket Books, 2006.
Collects poetry and essays by, and interviews with, South African poet and activist Dennis Brutus, exploring his thoughts and work against the apartheid South African regime and later efforts for humanity while addressing issues of debt, war, poverty, racism, and neoliberalism.

Aronson, Marc. Bill Gates : a twentieth century life. New York : Viking, 2009.
First principle of getting rich fast: pick the right parents -- Second principle of getting rich fast: pick the place -- Third principle of getting rich fast: get a good education -- Fourth principle of getting rich fast: pick the time -- Fifth principle of getting rich fast: dream big, seize the moment, build a business -- Sixth principle of getting rich fast: get the best out of every deal -- A pause between principles -- Seventh principle of getting rich fast: understand how to sell your mousetrap -- Last principle of getting rich fast: "how does this help Microsoft" -- Cracks -- Can we fix it?. Profiles the life and achievements of Microsoft cofounder Bill Gates, discussing how he became such a success and his philanthropic activities.

Gillam, Scott. Andrew Carnegie : industrial giant and philanthropist. Edina, Minn. : ABDO Pub., c2009.
Bound to climb -- Escape from poverty -- On the way to recognition -- The railroad to riches -- Becoming a man of steel -- Leisure, learning, and literature -- The road to the homestead strike -- Giving back -- Champion of world peace -- Last years and legacy. A biography of Scottish-born industrialist, business person, and philanthropist Andrew Carnegie, covering his upbringing, escape from poverty, education, and success in the steel industry and many other fields, and includes a timeline and glossary.

Partridge, Elizabeth. Restless spirit : the life and work of Dorothea Lange. New York : Puffin Books, 2001, c1998.
A biography of Dorothea Lange, whose photographs of migrant workers, Japanese American internees, and rural poverty helped bring about important social reforms.

Gevisser, Mark. A legacy of liberation : Thabo Mbeki and the future of the South African dream. 1st ed. New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2009.
Traces the history of South Africa's Mbeki family through the twentieth and early-twenty-first centuries, discussing how the family lost everything in the apartheid, Thabo Mbeki's rule as president, his handling of the AIDS crisis, the region's reaction to Thabo, and other related topics.

Chilman-Blair, Kim. Medikidz explain HIV. New York : Rosen, c2011.
The Medikidz, five superheroes who teach about medical conditions, explain HIV, providing information about how it affects the body, how it is contracted, diagnosis, and treatment.

Acemoglu, Daron. Why nations fail : the origins of power, prosperity, and poverty. 1st ed. New York : Crown Business, c2012.
Examines the factors that influence whether a nation is rich or poor, explains the economic institutions that underlie economic success in the twenty-first century, and discusses China and its growth, America's future, and an effective way to help millions overcome poverty.

Bremmer, Ian, 1969-. Every nation for itself : winners and losers in a G-zero world. New York : Portfolio/Penguin, 2012.
What is the G-zero? -- The road to the G-zero -- The G-zero impact -- Winners and losers -- What comes next? -- G-zero America. "Posing arguments about growing G-20 restrictions and the inability and unwillingness of powerful governments to mediate global challenges, a portrait of an imminent 'G-zero' world without a single country driving international agendas predicts intensified conflicts that will benefit and victimize specific nations"--Provided by publisher.

Moyo, Dambisa. Winner take all : China's race for resources and what it means for the world. New York : Basic Books, c2012.
Discusses the commodity dynamics that the world will face over the next several decades focusing on the implications of China's rush for resources across all regions of the world.

Bassett, Thomas J. The atlas of world hunger. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2010.
Examines the geography and causes of world hunger, explaining why hunger and hunger vulnerability exists in the twenty-first century despite the fact that there is more than enough food produced for every person to have a healthy diet.